Henrys Lake State Park

Here in the USA we have found a few good, a few acceptable and also bad private campsites. You can also find great campsites here, but they have their price. We are talking about 100 dollars per night and more. Since that does not fit into our budget, we have generously avoided these places. The State Parks are not only much more in our budget, but often they are also simply beautifully situated in the nature. Only the James Robb Place, which is unfortunately located directly at the Interstate, was not that nice, all other State Parks were just great. So we were very excited about the second last State Park of our trip, the Henrys Lake State Park.

Off into the cold

When we saw the weather forecast, we were surprised to see that snow was announced. Quickly we tried to find out how high the Henrys Lake State Park exactly is and if we have to drive over any passes. According to our research we should stay just below the snow line. Nevertheless, we filled up a little of propane to be able to heat at night not only with the air conditioner but also with the gas heating. The whole day was gray, cold and wet. And we were happy when we finally arrived at Henry's State Park. The mountains around were covered with snow and it only had to be a little colder, then there would have been snow on the campground, too. Despite this gray day, it was clear that we were again on a beautiful place.

New day - new weather

The next morning started more friendly and the rain subsided. By the time the boys had finished their schoolwork, the rain had stopped completely and we took a walk across the campground. Here you can see different rodents, unbelievable many different birds, swans breeding and falcons hunting. And there are signs everywhere warning of bears. There are also bear-safe waste containers and you should take care that nothing that smells of food is stored outside the camper. On our walk we also found kayaks, which are provided by Henry Lake State Parks for free. You just have to register at the entrance and pick up the paddles there. Kayaks and life jackets are then available down at the lake. The boys were very enthusiastic, and we signed up for four o'clock in the afternoon. The friendly lady warned us, however, that often there is wind in the afternoon and that the kayaks will not be given out in strong winds. The boys watched every breeze until four o'clock. But the weather meant well with us. The sun came out between the clouds and there was no wind. We enjoyed the trip on the beautiful lake surrounded by snow-covered mountains to the fullest.

For the next day the Yellowstone National Park was on the agenda, and we were excited and full of anticipation.

The Henrys Lake State Park offers not only beautiful parking lots, a beautiful view over the lake and a lot of nature, but also very friendly staff and unforgettable sunsets. And if you have binoculars with you, you can watch the moose grazing in the evening.

Henrys Lake State Park

  • Campground Info

    A beautiful State Park only 20 minutes drive from Yellowstone National Park.

  • Cost per night

    31 dollars

  • Passport America

    Not accepted here.

  • Website

    https://parksandrecreation.idaho.gov/parks/henrys-lake

You can find out more about us here:

And share our post with your loved ones:

Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp

From our Instagram feed:

Follow us here:

Our latest posts

Subscribe

Leave a Reply

en_US
de_CH en_US
0

Henrys Lake State Park

Wir haben hier in den USA ein paar gute, ein paar akzeptable und aber auch schlechte private Campingplätze erwischt. Man kann hier aber auch grossartige Campingplätze finden, die haben aber ihren Preis. Wir sprechen hier von 100 Dollar pro Nacht und mehr. Da das nicht in unser Budget passt, haben wir diese Plätze grosszügig gemieden. Die State Parks liegen nicht nur viel mehr in unserem Budget, sondern sind häufig auch einfach wunderschön in der Natur gelegenen. Nur der James Robb Platz, der leider direkt an der Interstate liegt, war nicht so schön, alle anderen State Parks waren einfach nur grossartig. So waren wir sehr auf den zweitletzten State Park unserer Reise, den Henrys Lake State Park, gespannt.

Auf in die Kälte

Als wir den Wetterbericht sahen, waren wir überrascht zu sehen, dass Schnee angesagt war. Schnell versuchten wir herauszufinden, wie hoch der Henrys Lake State Park genau liegt und ob wir über irgendwelche Pässe fahren müssen. Nach unseren Nachforschungen müssten wir gerade so unter der Schneegrenze bleiben. Wir haben dennoch ein wenig Propan getankt, um Nachts nicht nur mit der Klimaanlage, sondern auch mit der Gasheizung heizen zu können. Der ganze Tag war grau, kalt und nass. Und wir waren froh, als wir endlich auf dem Henrys State Park ankamen. Die Berge ringsherum waren schneebedeckt und es hätte nur ein klein wenig kälter sein müssen, dann hätte auch auf dem Campingplatz Schnee gelegen. Trotz dieses grauen Tages, war klar, dass wir wieder auf einem wunderschönen Platz waren.

Neuer Tag - neues Wetter

Der nächste Morgen startete freundlicher und der Regen liess nach. Bis die Jungs ihre Schulaufgaben erledigt hatten, hatte der Regen ganz aufgehört und wir machten einen Spaziergang über den Platz. Hier sieht man verschiedene Nager, unglaublich viele verschiedene Vögel, Schwäne am Brüten und Falken am Jagen. Und überall findet man Schilder, die vor Bären warnen. Auch hier gibt es Bären-sichere Abfallcontainer und man sollte gut darauf achten, dass nichts, das nach essen riecht, ausserhalb des Wohnmobils gelagert wird. Auf unserem Spaziergang fanden wir auch Kajaks, die der Henrys Lake State Parks kostenlos zur Verfügung stellt. Man muss sich einfach beim Eingang einschreiben gehen und dort auch die Paddel abholen. Kajaks und Schwimmwesten stehen dann unten am See zur Verfügung. Die Jungs waren hell begeistert und wir schrieben uns für vier Uhr am Nachmittag ein. Die freundliche Dame warnte uns aber, dass am Nachmittag häufig Wind aufkommt und dass die Kajaks bei starkem Wind nicht herausgegeben werden. Die Jungs beobachteten jedes Lüftchen bis vier Uhr. Aber das Wetter meinte es gut mit uns. Die Sonne kam zwischen den Wolken hervor und es blieb windstill. Wir genossen die Fahrt auf dem wunderschönen See umringt von schneebedeckten Bergen in vollen Zügen.

Für den nächsten Tag stand der Yellowstone National Park auf dem Programm und wir waren gespannt und voller Vorfreude.

Der Henrys Lake State Park bietet nicht nur wunderschöne Stellplätze, einen herrlichen Blick über den See und viel Natur, sondern auch sehr freundliches Personal und unvergessliche Sonnenuntergänge. Und wer einen Feldstecher mit dabei hat, kann am Abend den Elchen beim Grasen zusehen.

Henrys Lake State Park

  • Campingplatz Infos

    Ein wunderschöner State Park nur 20 Autominuten vom Yellowstone National Park entfernt.

  • Kosten pro Nacht

    31 Dollar

  • Passport America

    Wird hier nicht akzeptiert.

  • Website

    https://parksandrecreation.idaho.gov/parks/henrys-lake

Noch mehr über uns findet ihr hier:

Und teilt unser Post mit euren Liebsten:

Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp

Von unserem Instagram Feed:

Follow us here:

Unsere letzten Posts

Subscribe

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

de_CH
en_US de_CH
0