Heyburn State Park

The mood on the way to Heyburn State Park was not the best. We were all a bit melancholic and it really sank in that our big USA trip was now coming to an end.

The Heyburn State Park

Heyburn State Park is located at a beautiful lake and has several campgrounds. We had some trouble to find our campground, but at the Visitor Center they could help us. The Benewah Loop was hidden in the woods at the end of the lake. But you can get to the lake on foot without any problems. There is even a nice round walk along the lake and then through the forest back to the campground. The pitches are spacious and as usual at State Parks, so far away from the next neighbor that you have enough privacy.

At the Camping Host you can buy firewood for five dollars and each pitch has its own picnic table and fire ring. Now in June it is warm enough here to go swimming in the lake. After the boys had finished their schoolwork, we spent a wonderful day at the lake with snorkeling and splashing around.

The big disadvantage of the campground

The Heyburn State Park has one big disadvantage: Now in June you get eaten alive by mosquitoes at the campground. I am not someone who complains about a few mosquitoes, but this was something completely different. When I walked with the boys through the forest, we had to walk fast enough not to be constantly attacked. Anyone who stopped had 30 mosquitoes on him at once. And they didn't hesitate, they stung immediately. When we left Heyburn State Park my legs were covered with several dozen bites. And no, these mosquitoes were not at all impressed by our mosquito spray. Our Thermacell helped a bit, but you still got bitten, just not by a whole swarm.

The last drive

We all slept badly that last night and were up very early in the morning. Our boys are generally early risers and we had a time difference of one hour on the way here, so they were up an hour earlier. That was just fine with us, because our last day of driving was a very long one. It's over 300 miles from Heyburn State Park to Tacoma.

The first thing our youngest asked after waking up was, "Can't we stay in America a little longer?" We all did! After breakfast, we packed everything up unusually quietly and set off for the last time. In Tacoma we have to prepare our motorhome for shipping and then the plane takes us back to Switzerland.

 

Heyburn State Park

  • Campground Info

    A beautiful State Park, unfortunately full of mosquitoes in June.

  • Cost per night

    21 dollars

  • Passport America

    Not accepted here.

  • Website

    https://parksandrecreation.idaho.gov/parks/heyburn

You can find out more about us here:

And share our post with your loved ones:

Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp

From our Instagram feed:

Follow us here:

Our latest posts

Subscribe

Leave a Reply

en_US
de_CH en_US
0

Heyburn State Park

Die Stimmung auf dem Weg zum Heyburn State Park war nicht die Beste. Wir waren alle etwas melancholisch und es sank so richtig ein, dass unser grosser USA-Trip nun zu Ende ging.

Der Heyburn State Park

Der Heyburn State Park liegt an einem wunderschönen See und hat mehrere Campingplätze. Wir hatten etwas Mühe unseren Campingplatz zu finden, aber im Visitor Center konnte man uns weiterhelfen. Der Benewah Loop lag ganz am Ende des Sees etwas im Wald versteckt. Man kommt aber zu Fuss problemlos zum See. Es gibt sogar eine schöne Rundwanderung am See entlang und dann durch den Wald wieder zurück zum Campingplatz. Die Stellplätze sind grosszügig und wie bei State Parks üblich, so weit vom nächsten Nachbar entfernt, dass man genug Privatsphäre hat.

Beim Camping Host kann man für fünf Dollar Brennholz kaufen und jeder Stellplatz hat seinen eigenen Picknick-Tisch und Feuerring. Jetzt im Juni ist es hier warm genug, um im See baden zu gehen. Nachdem die Jungs ihre Schulaufgaben erledigt hatten, verbrachten wir einen herrlichen Tag am See mit Schnorcheln und Plantschen.

Der grosse Nachteil des Platzes

Der Heyburn State Park hat einen grossen Nachteil: Jetzt im Juni wird man am Stellplatz von Mücken lebendig gefressen. Ich bin nicht jemand, der sich über ein paar Mücken beschwert, aber das hier war etwas ganz anderes. Als ich mit den Jungs durch den Wald spaziert war, mussten wir schnell genug gehen, um nicht konstant attackiert zu werden. Wer stehen blieb hatte sofort 30 Mücken auf sich. Und sie zögerten nicht, sondern stachen sofort zu. Bei der Abfahrt von Heyburn State Park waren meine Beine mit mehreren Dutzend Stichen übersät. Und nein, diese Mücken waren von unserem Mückenspray absolut nicht beeindruckt. Unser Thermacell half etwas, aber gestochen wurde man trotzdem, einfach nicht gleich von einem ganzen Schwarm.

Die letzte Fahrt

Wir alle schliefen schlecht in dieser letzten Nacht und waren am Morgen sehr früh wach. Unsere Jungs sind generell Frühaufsteher und wir hatten auf dem Weg hierher noch eine Stunde Zeitverschiebung, sodass sie noch eine Stunde früher wach waren. Uns war das gerade recht, denn unser letzter Fahrtag war ein sehr langer. Vom Heyburn State Park nach Tacoma sind es über 300 Meilen.

Das erste, was unser Jüngster nach dem Aufwachen fragte, war: “Können wir nicht noch ein bisschen länger in Amerika bleiben?” Es ging uns allen so! Nach dem Frühstück packten wir ungewöhnlich still alles zusammen und machten uns ein letztes Mal auf. In Tacoma müssen wir unser Wohnmobil noch für die Verschiffung vorbereiten und dann bringt uns der Flieger zurück in die Schweiz.

 

Heyburn State Park

  • Campingplatz Infos

    Ein schöner State Park, im Juni leider voller Mücken.

  • Kosten pro Nacht

    21 Dollar

  • Passport America

    Wird hier nicht akzeptiert.

  • Website

    https://parksandrecreation.idaho.gov/parks/heyburn

Noch mehr über uns findet ihr hier:

Und teilt unser Post mit euren Liebsten:

Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp

Von unserem Instagram Feed:

Follow us here:

Unsere letzten Posts

Subscribe

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

de_CH
en_US de_CH
0