Shipping back to Europe

We shipped our motor home with Seabridge from Hamburg to Baltimore. The plan was to send it back to Europe the same way. When the decision was made not to go back to the East Coast, we needed a new solution for the shipping. There is the possibility to send a motor home overland, but we could not find a carrier who could give us exact delivery times because of Corona. So we had to find a new solution for the return shipment to Europe.

Shipping from the West Coast

So only shipping from the west coast was an option. This is much more expensive and at the time when we wanted to book it, Seabridge could not give us an exact date. We should inquire again at a later time. But as we wanted to book the flights, we also had to be sure that the shipping would work out. Then we decided to ship with Robert World Wide Shipping. This is a Dutch company that made us a very good offer. The contact with Robert, the company owner, was very special. He was really always available and answered within a few minutes, but he expected the same from us. If we didn't answer for two hours, he wrote or called again immediately. For us that was very strange. But he responded to our wishes and from other travel blogs we knew that the company is legitimate and that the shipment with Robert worked out. We still had a strange feeling, but not really another choice.

Canceled flights - New drop-off date

When Swiss cancelled our first return flight, we got replacement flights a few days earlier. Therefore, we had to adjust the delivery of our motor home for shipping. Everything had to take place a few days earlier. So we put the delivery on the Friday before the Sunday we would fly back. Thursday was reserved for cleaning and getting the RV ready and the trip to Tacoma was scheduled for Wednesday. So we would have had enough time for everything. The distance to Tacoma was with 340 miles quite long, and we were positively surprised how fast we arrived in Tacoma. That's why we already started with the big cleaning of the motor home on Wednesday. On Thursday morning we reserved the escort service for Friday, because at the harbor you always have to be accompanied by a licensed person. Such an escort must be booked 24 hours in advance. There, we were told that due to Corona we still need a special number for the delivery at the harbor. Our contact at IFF USA, who organize all the shipping formalities for Robert in the USA, got us this number. Thereby she learned that the port is always closed on Fridays because of Corona.

Now a little stress came up

Our only way to catch our flight was to drop off the RV at the Port of Tacoma before 3pm on Thursday. So everything that still needed to be done had to be done in the morning so that my husband had enough time in the afternoon to drive the RV to the port and drop it off. And so we stepped on the gas and got everything done that needed to be done as quickly as possible and by noon we were actually ready to go. After lunch, my husband left and was able to drop off the motor home at the Port of Tacoma. Fortunately, the escort service that was extremely flexible. They gave us an appointment for the afternoon on short notice and thanks to the energetic support of IFF USA, the drop-off of the motor home for shipping back to Europe worked out. So we were ready in time for our return flight on Sunday.

When it was clear that everything would work out and the tension had eased a little, I contacted Robert from Robert World Wide Shipping. We had a written contract from him that we could deliver our motorhome on Friday. It was pure coincidence that we found out in time that the port is closed on Fridays. If the delivery on Thursday had not worked out, we would have had to postpone our flights from Sunday.

Robert showed understanding for us and also found that it had certainly been stressful for us. But he did not see the responsibility for this mistake in himself, others were responsible for it. It is a fact that we have a contract with Robert World Wide Shipping, and he is responsible from our point of view that what is in the contract works. Unfortunately, we do not have the same view. We hope that the return shipment to Europe will now go smoothly and that we will be able to pick up our motor home in Bremerhaven at the end of August.

Our latest posts

Newsletter

RSS Feed

Don't miss a thing!

We do not use social media channels. You can follow us via RSS feed or newsletter!

From our gallery

en_US

Rückverschiffung nach Europa

Wir haben unser Wohnmobil mit Seabridge von Hamburg nach Baltimore verschifft. Geplant war, es auch auf demselben Weg wieder nach Europa zu schicken. Als die Entscheidung gefallen war, dass wir nicht zurück an die Ostküste fahren, benötigten wir eine neue Lösung für die Verschiffung. Es gibt die Möglichkeit ein Wohnmobil Überland zu schicken, aber wir fanden keinen Logistiker, der wegen Corona, uns genaue Lieferzeiten hätte angeben können. So mussten wir für die Rückverschiffung nach Europa eine neue Lösung finden.

Verschiffung von der Westküste

So kam nur die Verschiffung von der Westküste infrage. Das ist deutlich teurer und zum Zeitpunkt, als wir das buchen wollten, konnte uns Seabridge kein genaues Datum angeben. Wir sollten zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt nochmals anfragen. Da wir aber die Flüge buchen wollten, mussten wir auch sicher sein, dass die Verschiffung klappt. Wir haben dann beschlossen mit Robert World Wide Shipping zu verschiffen. Das ist eine holländische Firma, die uns ein sehr gutes Angebot gemacht hat. Der Kontakt mit Robert, dem Firmenbesitzer, war sehr speziell. Er war wirklich immer erreichbar und hat jeweils innerhalb weniger Minuten geantwortet, hat aber von uns dasselbe erwartet. Wenn wir mal zwei Stunden nicht geantwortet haben, hat er nochmals gleich nochmals geschrieben oder angerufen. Für uns war das sehr seltsam. Er ging aber auf unsere Wünsche ein und von anderen Reiseblogs wussten wir, dass die Firma legitim ist und die Verschiffung mit Robert geklappt hat. Ein komisches Gefühl hatten wir trotzdem, aber nicht wirklich eine andere Wahl.

Stornierte Flüge - Neues Abgabedatum

Als die Swiss uns die erste Rückflugverbindung storniert hat, bekamen wir Ersatzflüge ein paar Tage früher. Deshalb mussten wir auch die Abgabe unseres Wohnmobils für die Verschiffung anpassen. Alles musste ein paar Tage früher stattfinden. So legten wir die Abgabe auf den Freitag vor dem Sonntag, an dem wir zurückfliegen würden. Den Donnerstag reservierten wir uns fürs Putzen und bereitmachen des Wohnmobils und die Reise nach Tacoma legten wir auf den Mittwoch. So hätten wir für alles genug Zeit gehabt. Die Strecke nach Tacoma war mit 340 Meilen recht lang und wir waren positiv überrascht, wie schnell wir in Tacom angekommen sind. Deshalb haben wir bereits am Mittwoch mit der Grossreinigung des Wohnmobils begonnen. Am Donnerstagmorgen haben wir dann noch den Escort-Service für Freitag reserviert, denn am Hafen muss man immer von einer lizenzierten Person begleitet werden. Eine solche Begleitung muss man in der Regel 24 Stunden im Voraus buchen. Dort sagte man uns, dass wir wegen Corona noch eine spezielle Nummer für die Abgabe am Hafen benötigen. Diese Nummer hat uns dann unser Kontakt von IFF USA, welche für Robert in den USA die ganzen Verschiffung-Formalitäten organisieren,  besorgt. Dabei hat sie erfahren, dass der Hafen wegen Corona freitags immer geschlossen ist.

Nun kam doch ein wenig Stress auf

Unsere einzige Möglichkeit unseren Flug zu erwischen war es, das Wohnmobil bereits am Donnerstag vor 15 Uhr am Hafen von Tacoma abzugeben. Alles, was noch zu erledigen war, musste also am Vormittag gemacht werden, damit mein Mann am Nachmittag genügend Zeit hatte, das Wohnmobil zum Hafen zu fahren und abzugeben. Und so haben wir Gas gegeben und möglichst schnell alles erledigt, was es noch zu tun gab und am Mittag waren wir tatsächlich bereit. Nach dem Mittagessen ist mein Mann losgefahren und konnte das Wohnmobil am Hafen von Tacoma abgeben. Glücklicherweise war der Escort-Service, der äusserst flexibel. Sie haben uns kurzfristig einen Termin für den Nachmittag gegeben und dank der tatkräftigen Unterstützung von Iff USA hat die Abgabe des Wohnmobils für die Rückverschiffung nach Europa geklappt. So waren rechtzeitig bereit für unseren Rückflug am Sonntag.

Als klar war, dass alles klappen würde und sich die Anspannung etwas gelegt hatte, habe ich Robert von Robert World Wide Shipping kontaktiert. Von ihm hatten wir schriftlich im Vertrag, dass wir unser Wohnmobil am Freitag abgeben könnten. Es war reiner Zufall, dass wir rechtzeitig erfahren haben, dass der Hafen freitags jeweils geschlossen ist. Wenn die Abgabe am Donnerstag nicht mehr geklappt hätte, hätten wir das Wohnmobil erst am Montag abgeben können und unsere Flüge vom Sonntag verschieben müssen.

Robert zeigte durchaus Verständnis für uns und fand auch, dass es sicher stressig für uns gewesen war. Die Verantwortung für diesen Fehler sah er aber nicht bei sich, dafür seien andere verantwortlich. Fakt ist, dass wir mit Robert World Wide Shipping einen Vertrag haben und er aus unserer Sicht dafür verantwortlich ist, dass auch klappt, was im Vertrag steht. Leider haben wir da nicht die gleiche Ansicht. Wir hoffen, dass die Rückverschiffung nach Europa nun problemlos abläuft und wir unser Wohnmobil voraussichtlich Ende August in Bremerhaven abholen können.

Noch mehr über uns findet ihr hier:

Und teilt unser Post mit euren Liebsten:

Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp

Von unserem Instagram Feed:

Follow us here:

Unsere letzten Posts

Subscribe

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

de_CH
0