Wasatch Mountain State Park

From Colorado, we went on to Utah, the next state we do not know yet. Here we had booked a place in a State Park again and were looking forward to a few days in the quiet nature at Wasatch Mountain State Park.

Are we back in Switzerland already?

Wasatch Mountain State Park is located above the town of Midway. On the way through this city we passed the Appenzell Quarter and the Zermatt Resort. Furthermore, several Swiss flags decorated the roadside. Many Swiss emigrants live in Midway and they organize Swiss Days every year. But this year they had to be cancelled. And if you look around here, this region really looks similar to Switzerland. The snowy mountains are in the background and in front you can see an idyllic reservoir. And yes, everything here is cleaned and tidied up in a way that is untypical for the USA. We were very amused about what the Swiss influence is all about.

A golf course at the State Park

Wasatch Mountain State Park not only offers several camping loops and cabins, but also a golf course. We had never seen anything like this before. But not only golfers get their money's worth here. Also hiking and biking are excellent. Around the campsite there are several well maintained and beautiful trails. And since we got used to the altitude in the meantime, also longer walks on more than 1800 meters above sea level are no problem anymore.

Nature in the Wasatch Mountains

The State Park is located in the middle of the forest above the town of Midway. It offers quiet sites and a beautiful view. Now in June it gets quite hot (30 degrees Celsius) during the day, but at night there can be frost. You are just really at high altitude. But what we liked most were the many four-legged friends we could watch every day from the motor home already at breakfast. Here rabbits, squirrels, ground squirrels and chipmunks hunt each other and have wild races. Therefore, you should not leave anything edible unattended here either!

Wasatch Mountain State Park will remain in our memory as one of the most beautiful state parks of this trip.

 

Wasatch Mountain State Park

  • Campground Info

    One of the most beautiful parks on our USA trip.

  • Cost per night

    30 dollars

  • Passport America

    Not accepted here.

  • Website

    https://stateparks.utah.gov/parks/wasatch-mountain/

You can find out more about us here:

And share our post with your loved ones:

Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp

From our Instagram feed:

Follow us here:

Our latest posts

Subscribe

One Response

  1. Das ist doch super, so werdet ihr langsam aber sicher wieder an eure Heimat erinnert! 🥰
    Grüessli bis scho gly, Mämu

Leave a Reply

en_US
de_CH en_US
0

Wasatch Mountain State Park

Von Colorado ging es nun weiter nach Utah, der nächste Staat, den wir noch nicht kennen. Hier hatten wir wieder einen Platz in einem State Park gebucht und freuten uns auf ein paar Tage in der ruhigen Natur auf dem Wasatch Mountain State Park.

Sind wir schon zurück in der Schweiz?

Der Wasatch Mountain State Park liegt oberhalb der Stadt Midway. Auf dem Weg durch diese Stadt fuhren wir am Appenzell Quartier und am Zermatt Resort vorbei. Ausserdem zierten mehrere Schweizer Flaggen den Strassenrand. In Midway leben viele Schweizer Auswanderer und sie führen jährlich Swiss Days durch. Dieses Jahr mussten sie aber abgesagt werden. Und wenn man sich hier so umschaut, sieht dies Region der Schweiz wirklich ähnlich. Die Schneeberge sind im Hintergrund und vorne sieht man einen idyllischen Stausee. Und ja, hier ist alles USA-untypisch geputzt und aufgeräumt. Wir haben uns sehr amüsiert darüber, was der Schweizer Einfluss ausmacht.

Ein Golfplatz im State Park

Der Wasatch Mountain State Park verfügt nicht nur über mehrere Camping-Loops und  Cabins, sondern auch über einen Golfplatz. Das hatten wir so noch nicht gesehen. Aber nicht nur Golfspieler kommen hier auf ihre Kosten. Auch wandern und biken kann man hier hervorragend. Rund um den Campingplatz gibt es mehrere gut unterhaltene und schöne Trails. Und da wir uns inzwischen an die Höhe gewöhnt haben, sind auch längere Wanderungen auf über 1800 Metern über Meer kein Problem mehr.

Die Natur in den Wasatch Mountains

Der State Park liegt wirklich mitten im Wald oberhalb der Stadt Midway. Er bietet ruhige Stellplätze und eine herrliche Aussicht. Jetzt im Juni wird es hier am Tag durchaus 30 Grad heiss, in der Nacht kann es aber trotzdem Frost geben. Man ist halt eben wirklich in der Höhe. Aber am allerbesten haben uns die vielen Vierbeiner gefallen, die wir jeden Tag vom Wohnmobil aus schon beim Frühstück beobachten konnten. Hier jagen sich Häschen, Eichhörnchen, Bodenhörnchen und Streifenhörnchen und liefern sich dabei wilde Rennen. Auch hier sollte man deshalb nichts Essbares unbeaufsichtigt lassen!

Der Wasatch Mountain State Park wird als einer der schönsten State Parks dieser Reise in unserer Erinnerung bleiben.

 

Wasatch Mountain State Park

  • Campingplatz Infos

    Einer der schönsten Parks auf unserer USA Reise.

  • Kosten pro Nacht

    30 Dollar

  • Passport America

    Wird hier nicht akzeptiert.

  • Website

    https://stateparks.utah.gov/parks/wasatch-mountain/

Noch mehr über uns findet ihr hier:

Und teilt unser Post mit euren Liebsten:

Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp

Von unserem Instagram Feed:

Follow us here:

Unsere letzten Posts

Subscribe

One Response

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

de_CH
en_US de_CH
0