Yellowstone National Park

When we spent hours on the Applebutter Farm planning our return journey, we wished for one thing: a nice end to this great trip. We didn't just want to flee the country, we wanted to see some more of the landscape and nature. Because so many campsites were still closed in California, we decided to take the route through Colorado, Utah, Idaho and Montana to Tacoma. What we didn't know at that time was that the Yellowstone National Park would open in time for us.

And so we left Henry's Lake State Park in the morning. This park is only about 20 minutes by car from the west entrance of Yellowstone National Park. We had already bought the ticket online. By the way, National Parks are very cheap, the entrance is usually paid per car and costs 35 dollars. But an entrance is valid for one week. 35 Dollars are not much for one day, if you stay for a whole week, it gets cheap right away.

Our wish for the Yellowstone National Parks

At the top of the wish list were the wild bison. The sight of a herd of bison on the large grassy areas is the epitome of America. And we wanted to see the geyser Old Faithful. In the app of the National Park you can always find the approximate time of the next eruption.

Because we got there so early, we only had to queue at the entrance for a short time. So it is really worthwhile to be here early at the entrance. Long waiting times are not unusual here in the high season. Since there were already quite a lot of people in the morning at eight, we decided to drive directly to Old Faithful. But on the way there we already met the first herd of bison. We did not expect that the animals would be so close to the road. But the impressive animals didn't let themselves be disturbed by the many cars.

Old Faithful

After the first bison sighting we went on to the geyser, where we saw some bison on the way. When we arrived at the parking lot of Old Faithful we saw that our timing was perfect and the geyser would erupt in about 30 minutes. We looked for a good bench along the fence and waited anxiously. Everywhere around we saw small steam clouds rising. This creates a very special atmosphere. Old Faithful erupted on time, and we were all very excited. We had never seen anything like it before.

On to Yellowstone Lake

Since we only had one day to visit Yellowstone National Park, we decided to take a big circular route through the park. We mainly wanted to see the park, unfortunately there was no time for hiking or something similar. But the drive to Yellowstone Lake was worth it in any case. The view over the lake was just terrific. The further way led us past many more bison, and also some deer. Next on the agenda were the Upper Falls waterfalls.

The big round trip through the Yellowstone National Park

We covered a total of 204 kilometers in Yellowstone National Park and saw about 25 deer and hundreds of bison. We were on the road for a whole day and in the evening we were completely exhausted. For us this trip was the crowning finale of a very impressive and wonderful trip through the USA. And we have to thank Corona at this point, because the Yellowstone National Park would not have been on the original itinerary.

You can find out more about us here:

And share our post with your loved ones:

Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp

From our Instagram feed:

Follow us here:

Our latest posts

Subscribe

One Response

  1. So hat alles seine zwei Seiten. Man muss sie nur sehen. Zum Glück habt ihr einen schönen und versöhnlichen Abschluss eurer Reise gehabt. Grüessli bis gly, Mämu

Leave a Reply

en_US
de_CH en_US
0

Yellowstone National Park

Als wir auf der Applebutter Farm Stunden mit der Planung der Rückreise verbracht haben, wünschten wir uns eines: einen schönen Abschluss dieser grossartigen Reise. Wir wünschen uns nicht einfach eine Flucht aus dem Land, sondern wollten noch etwas von der Landschaft und Natur sehen. Weil in Kalifornien immer noch so viele Campingplätze geschlossen waren, entschieden wir uns für die Route durch Colorado, Utah, Idaho und Montana nach Tacoma. Was wir damals noch nicht wussten, ist, dass der Yellowstone National Park rechtzeitig für uns öffnen würde.

Und so fuhren wir am morgen früh vom Henrys Lake State Park los. Dieser liegt nur etwa 20 Autominuten vom West-Eingang des Yellowstone National Parks entfernt. Das Ticket hatten wir bereits online gelöst. National Parks sind übrigens sehr günstig, der Eintritt wird in der Regel pro Fahrzeug bezahlt und kostet 35 Dollar. Ein Eintritt ist aber eine Woche lang gültig. 35 Dollar sind schon für einen Tag nicht viel, wenn man eine ganze Woche bleibt, wird es direkt billig.

Unser Wunsch für den Yellowstone National Parks

Ganz oben auf der Wunschliste standen die wilden Bisons. Der Anblick einer Bisonherde auf den grossen Grasflächen ist der Inbegriff von Amerika. Und wir wollten den Geysir Old Faithful sehen. In der App des National Parks findet man jeweils die ungefähre Zeit des nächsten Ausbruchs.

Weil wir so früh losgefahren sind, mussten wir am Eingang nur kurz anstehen. Es lohnt sich also wirklich hier frühzeitig am Eingang zu sein. Lange Wartezeiten sind hier in der Hochsaison nicht ungewöhnlich. Da morgens um acht schon recht viele Leute unterwegs waren, entschieden wir uns direkt zum Old Faithful zu fahren. Auf dem Weg dorthin trafen wir aber bereits die erste Bisonherde an. Wir haben nicht damit gerechnet, dass die Tiere so nahe an der Strasse liegen würden. Die imposanten Tiere liessen sich aber auch von den vielen Autos nicht aus der Ruhe bringen.

Old Faithful

Nach der ersten Bison-Sichtung ging es weiter zum Geysir, wobei wir auf dem Weg immer wieder vereinzelte Bisons sahen. Als wir beim Parkplatz zum Old Faithful ankamen, sahen wir, dass unser Timing perfekt aufging und der Geysir in etwa 30 Minuten ausbrechen würde. Wir suchen uns einen gutes Bänklein entlang des Zauns und warteten gespannt. Überall ringsherum sieht man kleine Dampfwolken aufsteigen. Das ergibt eine ganz spezielle Atmosphäre. Old Faithful brach pünktlich aus und wir alle waren hell begeistert. So etwas hatten wir noch nie gesehen.

Weiter zum Lake Yellowstone

Da wir nur einen Tag für den Yellowstone National Park zu Verfügung hatten, haben wir uns für eine grosse Kreisroute durch den Park entschieden. Wir wollten den Park vor allem sehen, für Wanderungen oder Ähnliches blieb leider keine Zeit. Die Fahrt zum Yellowstone Lake hat sich aber auf jeden Fall gelohnt. Der Blick über den See war einfach nur grandios. Der weitere Weg führte uns vorbei an vielen weiteren Bisons, und auch ein paar Hirschen. Als Nächstes standen die Upper Falls Wasserfälle auf dem Plan.

Die grosse Rundreise durch den Yellowstone National Park

Wir haben im Yellowstone National Park insgesamt 204 Kilometer zurückgelegt und etwa 25 Hirsche und hunderte von Bisons gesehen. Wir waren einen ganzen Tag unterwegs und am Abend völlig K. O. Für uns war dieser Ausflug der krönende Abschluss einer sehr eindrücklichen und wunderschönen Reise durch die USA. Und wir müssen an dieser Stelle Corona danken, denn auf der ursprünglichen Reiseroute wäre der Yellowstone National Park nicht drauf gewesen.

Noch mehr über uns findet ihr hier:

Und teilt unser Post mit euren Liebsten:

Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp

Von unserem Instagram Feed:

Follow us here:

Unsere letzten Posts

Subscribe

One Response

  1. So hat alles seine zwei Seiten. Man muss sie nur sehen. Zum Glück habt ihr einen schönen und versöhnlichen Abschluss eurer Reise gehabt. Grüessli bis gly, Mämu

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

de_CH
en_US de_CH
0